Nurse injector training and Botox certification

Last checked October 25, 2026. Course prices change; each figure links to its source. Information, not legal advice.

There is no national Botox certification or license in the US. A Botox course gives you a certificate of completion, not the legal right to inject. Your license and your state's scope-of-practice and supervision rules decide that. The boards that describe training ask for documented training and proven competence, and some call for a supervised practicum. The optional CANS certification needs about two years of nursing in a core specialty such as plastic surgery or dermatology.

Is there a Botox certification for nurses?

Not in the sense of a license. We found no federal or national body that issues a "Botox certification" letting a nurse inject. When a training company says "certified," it means you finished its course. Some companies add their own titles, such as the "Certified Aesthetic Provider" designation (IAPAM) or the FAACM title (AACM). These are private titles.

A certificate does not change what your license allows. Derma Institute, a training company, says so on its own course page: completing the course does not "create automatic legal authority to provide treatment." The Texas Board of Nursing makes the same point about continuing education: it "CANNOT qualify a RN to perform the same level of care as an APRN."

Whether you may inject, who must examine the patient first, and who must supervise you are set by your state. See who can inject Botox, state by state.

What a good course includes

No national standard sets course content or hours. The most detailed list we found comes from the Arizona Board of Nursing. Its advisory opinion on aesthetic procedures says training must include "a comprehensive didactic component and a supervised practicum where each procedure is evaluated by a qualified practitioner." The course topics it lists include:

  • Anatomy and physiology for the procedure
  • Pharmacology: drug actions, interactions, side effects and contraindications
  • Client selection, history, assessment, indications and contraindications
  • Informed consent
  • Proper technique and safe use of the product
  • Expected outcomes, complications and side effects
  • Managing complications and adverse events, and the nursing care they require
  • Infection control and safety precautions

Texas sets a shorter list for anyone a physician delegates cosmetic injections to: technique, care before and after the procedure, infection control, contraindications, and recognizing and managing complications. Alaska's Board of Nursing, outside the states we cover, says the nurse "must acquire education that includes a supervised practicum resulting in a competency evaluation."

Hands-on injecting: how many patients?

No nursing rule we found in the 10 states we cover sets a number of live patients. Courses differ a lot, and most do not publish a per-student count. Examples from course pages: Derma Institute says its Level I course is "50% practical" with live models. MedAesthetics Training caps its class at 8 and provides the models. AAAMS's virtual course asks you to bring two models, and you inject them during a live online session with an instructor. Before you book, ask:

  • How many patients will I inject myself, not watch?
  • Which areas (forehead, frown lines, crow's feet)?
  • How many students per instructor?
  • Who supplies the product and the models, and who is the prescriber on the day?
  • Is complication management taught hands-on, including vascular events from filler?

Course formats

  • One- or two-day in-person course. Common among the courses we checked. Many cover Botox and fillers together and include injecting live models.
  • Advanced course. Schools also sell follow-on courses, usually for nurses who already inject.
  • Online-only theory. Self-paced videos and a quiz. Useful for the theory, but there is no supervised injecting. One online Level I course we checked ends with a 5-question quiz with a 60% pass mark.
  • Hybrid. Online theory first, then hands-on training. Several providers in the table below sell it this way.
  • Employer training. Supervised injecting on real patients inside a practice. Some employers run their own programs (see below).
  • Manufacturer training. Allergan Aesthetics, which makes Botox Cosmetic, opened Allergan Medical Institute training centers in Orange County and Atlanta in 2025. A May 2025 news report points to AMI's own site for trainee criteria and program length. We could not read that site, so we do not list them.

What employers ask for

We read 54 injector job postings from 8 US employer groups on October 25, 2026. Many are for NPs and PAs, not only RNs. This is a small sample weighted toward chains, so treat it as examples, not a survey.

  • Many ask for injecting experience. NakedMD prefers "1+ years of hands-on aesthetic injecting experience" but considers newcomers. SEV Laser (Houston) asks for a minimum of 1 year. Bodify (Scottsdale) asks for "at least three years," with "documented training and relevant certifications."
  • Some ask for a course certificate. Several practices in the Advanced MedAesthetic Partners group list "Injector certification highly preferred." Pinch's general NP postings (open to new and experienced injectors) require "Certification in injectables" or completing Pinch's own program.
  • Some train you their way. Skin Clique requires its own protocol training before you treat patients. Peachy (New York, NPs) offers paid training with "no prior aesthetics experience required." One AMP posting asks applicants to be willing to complete a 4-week paid training program.
  • BLS is a common ask. BLS (in some postings, BLS or ACLS) appeared in postings from 5 of the 8 employer groups.
  • CANS was not asked for. None of the 54 postings mentioned it.

For current openings, see nurse injector jobs. For pay, see aesthetic nurse salary.

US training providers compared

Prices are as listed on each training company's own page on October 25, 2026. They change often, and several sites showed sale banners that day. Providers are listed alphabetically. Being listed is not a recommendation. "CE stated" means credits as each company describes them. Physician credits (AMA PRA, AAFP) are not the same as ANCC nursing contact hours, so check what your board accepts for renewal.

ProviderCourse checkedFormat and lengthHands-on on live patientsWho it accepts (per its page)Price (as listed on Oct 25, 2026)CE stated
AAAMSBTX CERT (Botox certification)Online module, then a one-on-one virtual hands-on session. The page gives 6.5 hours in total but states the hands-on time three ways (2, 2.5 and 4 hours)Yes, but you supply two models and inject them during a live video sessionMD, DO, NP, RN, PA, dentist$1,9506.5 CE/CME, accreditor not named
American Academy of Cosmetic Medicine (AACM)Online courseOnline, 8.5 hours, 180 days accessNo; optional clinical shadowingRN, NP, PA, physician, dentist, "other medical provider qualified to perform cosmetic injections"Not published on its site8.5 CME credits, planned with a provider jointly accredited by ACCME, ACPE and ANCC
Derma InstituteBasic Botox and Dermal Filler Training, Level IIn person, 1.5 daysYes, "50% practical" with live modelsLicensed healthcare professionals; its menu lists physicians, dentists, nurses and PAs$2,450 (site showed a 30% off banner)"CME 12 Hours," accreditor not named
Empire Medical TrainingBotulinum Toxin Training (in person); Botox Training Level I (online)Saturday workshops starting 8:00 AM (length not stated on the store page); online self-paced courseIn person: "supervised injection practice under faculty." Online: noOnline course: MD/DO, RN, NP, PA, dentist. Not stated for the in-person workshop$1,799 in person (crossed-out $1,999); $499 online (crossed-out $699)Online: 8.0 AMA PRA Category 1. Nursing CE not stated
IAPAM2-Day Aesthetic Medicine Explorer, Hands-On Botox (Scottsdale)In person, Saturday and Sunday; online courses also soldYes, live modelsMD/DO, NP, PA, dentist. Its FAQ says RNs may take online courses and attend hands-on training "if accompanying their supervisor or medical director"$4,395 non-member; $2,995 member (membership $295 a year). Site says Botox training "starts at just $395"18 AMA PRA Category 1. Nursing CE not stated
MedAesthetics TrainingBotox and Dermal Filler, Level IIn person, one day (8:00 to 5:30), max 8 studentsYes, models providedMD, DO, PA, NP/APRN, RN; LPN/LVN and dentists "may be eligible in certain states"$1,745Up to 9.75 AAFP Prescribed. Nursing CE not stated
National Laser InstituteSingle Botox certification; Fundamentals 1 (Botox and fillers)Virtual pre-study, then in person. Fundamentals 1 is one full Saturday. Length of the single Botox course not statedYes, "real clients (no mannequins)"Physician, PA, NP, RN, dentist; LVN/LPN in Texas only$1,495 single Botox; $2,495 Fundamentals 1 (crossed-out $2,990)Nurses: 7.5 CE per day through an ANCC-accredited approver

CANS: the aesthetic nursing specialty certification

The Certified Aesthetic Nurse Specialist (CANS) credential is awarded by the Plastic Surgical Nursing Certification Board (PSNCB). It is a professional certification earned by passing an exam. It is not a course and not a license. To apply as an RN, PSNCB's page and application say you need:

  • a current, full and unrestricted RN license in the US, its territories or Canada;
  • at least 1,000 practice hours in the core specialties in the last two years;
  • at least two years of RN experience in the core specialties, within the three years before you apply. The core specialties are plastic/aesthetic surgery, cosmetic surgery, ophthalmology, dermatology and facial plastic surgery (ENT);
  • current work in a practice with a physician board certified in one of those specialties (PSNCB's web page also accepts working with a CANS-certified nurse practitioner);
  • an endorsement from your supervising core physician. The web page also accepts a letter from a CANS-certified NP, and RNs who work under an NP also need a letter from a physician they refer patients to.

The exam costs $325 for ISPAN members or $495 for non-members, plus a $25 nonrefundable application fee. Certification lasts three years, and you then recertify by exam or continuing education. NPs and APRNs have their own track. Because of the experience rule, most nurses work in a core specialty for a few years before they can sit for CANS. The full path is in how to become a nurse injector.

States that set training rules for nurses

We checked the 10 states we cover. None issues a state "Botox certificate," and we found none that publishes a board-approved list of Botox courses. A few boards do say what training must look like:

  • Arizona is the most specific. The Board of Nursing's advisory opinion (last revised November 2025) says nurses may perform Level III procedures, which include neuromodulators and fillers, after completing training and showing competence "through a formal esthetic program" and/or "approved continuing medical or nursing education programs." Training must include a didactic part and a supervised practicum with each procedure evaluated, plus the topics listed above. Proof of training, supervised clinical practice and licensure must be on file with the employer. Its table marks injectables for RNs and APRNs, not LPNs. Arizona guide
  • Texas: the delegating physician must make sure the injector is trained in technique, pre- and post-procedure care, infection control, contraindications and complications, and the injector signs and dates a written protocol. The Board of Nursing expects the nurse's education and skills assessment to be in the personnel record. Texas guide
  • Colorado: the Board of Nursing's scope test asks a nurse who did not learn a skill in school whether they have "since completed a comprehensive training program that included clinical experience." Colorado guide
  • Georgia and North Carolina: the nursing boards require "documented knowledge, skill, and competency" for the procedure, and policies at the practice, including emergency policies. Georgia guide, North Carolina guide
  • California, Florida, Illinois, New Jersey and New York: we found no nurse-specific course, hour count or certificate. General rules still apply: you must be competent, and physicians may delegate only to trained staff. California, Florida, Illinois, New Jersey, New York

Board opinions change. Check the current version with your board before relying on any of this.

Red flags

  • Online-only "certification" sold as enough to start. Theory online is fine. But Arizona's and Alaska's boards call for a supervised practicum, and many postings in our sample ask for injecting experience.
  • No clear number of patients you inject yourself. Watching a demo is not the same as injecting.
  • Courses open to people who cannot legally inject. California's Medical Board says "No unlicensed persons, such as medical assistants, may inject Botox." Oregon says cosmetic injections are not in esthetician scope. A course that takes your money does not mean your state lets you inject. See state rules.
  • "Certified" titles from the course company itself. These are private titles. CANS is a nursing specialty certification earned by exam.
  • Vague CE claims. Look for a named accreditor. If you need nursing CE for renewal, check that the credits are ones your board accepts.
  • No answer on who prescribes and supervises on the day, or a pitch that you can open your own practice right after class. Ownership and medical director rules vary by state. See med spa medical director rules.

FAQ

Is there a national Botox certification for nurses?

No. Botox courses issue certificates of completion, and no national body licenses nurses to inject Botox. Your nursing license and your state's rules decide what you may do. CANS is a nursing specialty certification in aesthetics, and it requires about two years of nursing in a core specialty.

Can I inject after an online-only Botox course?

A course certificate, online or in person, does not decide whether you may inject. Your license and state rules do. An online course alone also gives no supervised injecting. Arizona's Board of Nursing calls for a supervised practicum where each procedure is evaluated, and Alaska's board calls for a competency evaluation. Many employers in our sample also ask for injecting experience.

How much does Botox training cost?

Course prices listed on October 25, 2026 ran from $499 for an online-only course to $4,395 for a two-day hands-on Botox program (non-member price). Most in-person hands-on courses we checked listed between $1,495 and $2,495. Prices change and sales are common.

Do employers require CANS?

Not in the 54 postings we read in October 2026; none mentioned it. Postings more often asked for injecting experience (often one year or more), a course certificate, or BLS. CANS can still set you apart once you qualify.

Can LPNs take Botox training?

Some courses accept LPNs or LVNs, often only in certain states. National Laser Institute, for example, accepts LVN/LPNs in Texas only. Being accepted by a course does not mean your state allows it. Arizona's opinion marks injectables for RNs and APRNs, not LPNs. Check your state's rules first.

Sources